In Washington State, any program that purports to provide "treatment" for domestic violence to defendants must be certified by the Washington State Department of Social & Health Services (DSHS), the process is guided by Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 388-60. Washington State law is comprehensive and very specific. However, individual programs can vary somewhat. John T Law, PLLC works directly with efficient providers that can help put your life back on the right track and qualify you to receive to enter and receive sentencing alternatives, which can minimize jail time and in some cases prevent a criminal record.
Is there an advantage of DV-Treatment or Sentencing Alternatives?
Yes, in some cases you may be facing jail-time and a criminal record. These are generally cases with injuries and situations where the prosecutor may not have difficulty in proving the case. Ultimately, clients are the ones who make the decision if they wish to accept alternative sentencing as a alternative to trial.
A licensed counselor may accept or reject you for treatment during their initial appointment. Information will be collected during the intake process, background information such as: history of violence, substance abuse, any past treatment, suicide/homicide threats, stalking, gun ownership, mental health, sexual abuse, child abuse, relationship to victim, common children with the victim, any criminal history.
Washington State law requires that a number of topics be covered in the course, topics include: your beliefs and values that support violence, forms of abuse, effect of abuse on children, accepting responsibility for your actions, legal and social consequences, and many others.
How long is DV Treatment?
Washington State law requires a minimum of 26 consecutive weekly sessions (6months). These weekly group sessions must be at least 90 minutes long, one-gendered, and consist of between 2 and 12 persons. After successful completion of the weekly group sessions for the first 6 months, participants must attend at least one session per month for the next 6 months.