In Washington State a misdemeanor Prostitution offense can have a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times Prostitution charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. A misdemeanor Prostitution charge may sounds relatively harmless, but it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, sex crimes like prostitution create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with Prostitution in Washington State this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, many are juveniles and have a bright future ahead of them.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Prostitution: