Driving With License Suspended Attorney in Washington State

We help Washington State drivers with legal representation on misdemeanor charges of Driving with License Suspended. Driving with License Suspended charges come in three degrees. Driving with a Suspended License in the 1st degree is the most serious, third degree is the least serious, and second degree is somewhere in the middle. Driving with License Suspended is NOT a traffic infraction; it is a criminal charge and can carry penalties of up to 90 days in jail and a fine of $1000. Don't make the mistake of assuming that because this is a traffic-related incident that it is not a criminal charge.

It is important to protect your criminal record; a conviction of Driving with a Suspended License can cost you thousands in increased insurance costs, it can also cost you your freedom. Also, it is essential to maintain a clean criminal record for employment purposes. A charge of Driving with a Suspended License is NOT a “traffic ticket.” This conviction will go on your criminal record. The law office of John M. Tymczyszyn can work with you and often negotiate a favorable outcome for your future. Don't make the mistake of assuming that because this is a traffic-related charge that it will not go on your criminal record.

Driving on a Suspended License Attorney Pricing

We generally charge $800-$1200 for a Driving With a Suspended License charge. A criminal driving charge can drive up your insurance costs and cost you thousands of dollars over the next 3 years. Additionally, it is a criminal infraction that can affect your future employment prospects.

Driving with a Suspended License 1st degree

A conviction of Driving With a Suspended License in the first degree carries with it a mandatory jail sentence of 10 days and a maximum sentence of 1 year. A conviction can also result in a fine of up to $5,000. This charge is generally reserved for people that the prosecutor has labeled as a “habitual traffic offender.”

Driving with a Suspended License 2nd degree

A conviction of Driving With a Suspended License in the second degree carries with it a maximum jail sentence of 1 year. A conviction can also result in a fine of up to $5,000. Additionally, if convicted of Driving With a Suspended License in the second degree you will lose your driving privileges for a period of 1 year. This charge has no mandatory jail sentence, so aggressive representation is essential. We will work to preserve your freedom and your driving privileges.

Driving with a Suspended License 3rd degree

A conviction of Driving With a Suspended License in the third degree carries with it a maximum jail sentence of 90 days. A conviction can also result in a fine of up to $1,000. There is no mandatory suspension of driving privileges associated with a Driving With a Suspended License in the third degree, nevertheless, this is a criminal charge and will go on your criminal record. In many cases this charge can be negotiated with the prosecution without a criminal trial. An aggressive competent attorney may be able to negotiate a charge like this into a civil infraction.  Civil infractions do not go on your criminal record.

Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Driving while license Suspended/invalidated:

RCW 46.20.342 Driving while license invalidated — Penalties — Extension of invalidation.

KING COUNTY

King County: Seattle, Bellevue, Kirkland, Redmond, Issaquah, Sammamish, Bothell, Duvall, Woodinville, Mercer Island, Newcastle, Kent, Renton, Federal Way, Auburn, SeaTac, Kenmore, Tukwila, and more.

SNOHOMISH COUNTY

Snohomish County: Bothell, Lynnwood, Edmonds, Everett