In Washington State a misdemeanor Concealing birth degree offense can have a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. Although this crime is rarely charged it can have devastating consequences.
Often times Concealing birth charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a Concealing birth charge may sound relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing and find employment. If convicted many employers will simply pass over your application for years to come. With a criminal record most employers will not ask for an explanation, but simply reject your application. Additionally, government employment and military service may be impossible.
For many people charged with Concealing birth this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, many are young people and have a bright future ahead of them.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Concealing birth:
RCW 9.02.050 - Concealing birth
Every person who shall endeavor to conceal the birth of a child by any disposition of its dead body, whether the child died before or after its birth, shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor.