Are you charged with a criminal traffic offense in Washington State?
A charge of Reckless Driving is a criminal traffic offense and NOT a traffic infraction. Unlike a traffic ticket a conviction of reckless driving does go onto your Washington State Patrol criminal record. The potential penalties for a conviction of Reckless Driving are:
1. $5,000 fines
2. Mandatory 30 day license suspension
3. Up to 364 days in Jail
4. Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) if alcohol was a factor in the case
5. Increased auto insurance rates
If you are convicted of Reckless driving it is important to note that the 30 day license suspension is mandatory. This means that the judge must impose a license suspension of 30 days if you are found guilty of Reckless driving. John T Law, PLLC has successfully represented hundreds of people charged with criminal traffic offenses.