We help Washington State drivers with legal representation on misdemeanor charges of Hit and Run (Attended and Unattended). Hit and Run is not a traffic infraction in the State of Washington; it is a criminal charge and can carry penalties of up to 365 days in jail and a fine of $5000. Hit and Run is a more serious charge than most driving related crimes because it carries with it a stigma of deception. The police officer that has charged you determined that you committed the crime of Hit and Run purposefully. This accusation can carry with it very serious consequences.
It is important to protect your criminal record; a conviction of "Hit and Run" can cost you thousands in increased insurance costs and a mandatory loss of driving privilege. Also, it is essential to maintain a clean criminal record for employment purposes. This charge is NOT a “traffic ticket.” This conviction will go on your criminal record. Hit and Run attorney John T. can work with you and negotiate a favorable outcome. Don't make the mistake of assuming that because this is a traffic-related charge that it will not go on your criminal record.
Many people are charged with the crime of Hit and Run because the police are not satisfied with the amount of information that was exchanged between the parties.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for:
RCW 46.52.010 Duty on striking unattended car or other property — Penalty.
RCW 46.52.020 Duty in case of personal injury or death or damage to attended vehicle or other property — Penalties.