Do I get a criminal record for a DUI?
Yes, a DUI conviction does go on your criminal record if you are proven guilty of this charge in a court of law.
How long does a DUI conviction stay on my record?
In the state of Washington, a DUI conviction cannot be vacated and therefore will be on your record permanently.
What are some common DUI penalties?
Penalties will vary depending on the circumstance such as if there was an accident, child in the vehicle or you have previous DUI convictions. In general, for a first time DUI, you may be facing a jail sentence for up to 364 days, fines up to $5,000, ordering of an Ignition Interlock Device, mandatory SR-22 Insurance and a 90 day license suspension.
Should I hire a lawyer for a DUI?
Yes, you are facing several serious charges against you and you will need the best representation you can get. There is a criminal case regarding your DUI charge but also a civil case regarding your license, both of which an experienced private attorney can help you with.
Do I have to take a breathalyzer test?
Washington's “implied consent” law says that if you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has probable cause to believe that you have been driving under the influence, then you consent to taking a chemical test of your blood or breath for the purpose of determining your blood alcohol content (BAC).
What should I do after being arrested for a DUI?
1. Obtain all documents you have received from the court and those you were given either at the scene or after leaving jail
2. Hire a defense attorney
3. Attend the arraignment court date
4. Complete an alcohol evaluation
5. Attend a victim's panel