In Washington State a misdemeanor of Aiming or discharging firearms, carrying a firearm without a permit, unlawful display of a firearm or dangerous weapons in Charge — can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. Additionally, you may be charged with a crime that was an accident or a matter of self-defense.
I have not only helped defendants fight against firearms charges, but I have helped them recover the confiscated firearm and preserve their second amendment rights.
For many people charged with a Aiming or discharging firearms, unlawful display of a firearm and dangerous weapons charges this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, a conviction that involves a firearm can generally carry jail time and a deprecation of your 2nd amendment rights to own firearms in the future.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for:
1. Aiming or discharging firearms, dangerous weapons.
Aiming, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being; Or willfully discharge a firearm, air gun, or other weapon in a public place. Keep in mind that if you were driving a vehicle while aiming or discharging a firearm that you may be charged with "drive-by" shooting.
2. Unlawful Display of a Firearm or Weapons (aka Brandishing)
(1) It shall be unlawful for any person to carry, exhibit, display, or draw a firearm or weapon in a manner that either manifests an intent to intimidate another or that warrants alarm for the safety of other persons. (2) Any person violating this law above shall be guilty of a gross misdemeanor. If any person is convicted of a violation of this law, the person shall lose his or her concealed pistol license. The court shall send notice of the revocation to the department of licensing, and the city, town, or county which issued the license. Take careful note that a conviction of this crime can result in a permanent deprivation of your 2nd amendment rights.
3. Carrying firearms without a permit.
Except in the person's place of abode or fixed place of business, a person shall not carry a pistol concealed on his or her person without a license to carry a concealed pistol. (1) Every licensee shall have his or her concealed pistol license in his or her immediate possession at all times that he or she is required by this section to have a concealed pistol license and shall display the same upon demand to any police officer or to any other person when and if required by law to do so. (2) A person shall not carry a loaded pistol in a vehicle unless the person has a license to carry a concealed pistol.
4. Reckless Endangerment.
(1) A person is guilty of Reckless Endangerment when he recklessly engages in conduct that creates a substantial risk of death or injury to another person.
(2) Drive-by shootings are not covered under this law (3) A violation of this law is a gross misdemeanor
In accordance with the US Constitution, Washington State protects an individual's right to bear arms per the second amendment. However, there are several restrictions to this privilege which a small violation can result in a large criminal charge.
Washington State has many laws that restrict and regulate the buying, selling, possession and discharging of a weapon. Criminal convictions for firearm charges often result in automatic loss of gun rights for multiple years. It is important to hire an attorney with experience in firearm defense in order to protect your second amendment rights.
There are many places where the possession of a firearm is prohibited including but limited to: buildings used for court proceedings, certain areas of public mental health facilities, establishments which serve alcohol and are off-limits to persons under 21 years of age, restricted-access areas of commercial airports, State correctional facilities, outdoor music festivals, and schools.
As a general rule, a person age 21 and older may legally carry a weapon in Washington state so long as they have a permit to carry and it is concealed in the areas that are required by state law and the weapon is not used with intent to intimidate or harm another person or establish concern for the safety of other people.