In Washington State a misdemeanor Custodial interference 2nd degree offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. If you have been charged with Custodial interference in the 2nd degree after being convicted of this crime in the past you are facing class C felony charges.
Often times Custodial interference 2nd degree charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a Custodial interference 2nd degree charge may sounds relatively harmless, but it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing and find employment. Additionally, property crimes like Vehicle Prowling create significant barriers to employment for many people. If convicted many employers will simply pass over your application for years to come. Additionally, government employment and military service may be impossible.
For many people charged with Custodial interference 2nd degree this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, this may be a domestic family dispute or simply a misunderstanding with police.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Custodial interference 2nd degree: