In Washington State a misdemeanor Custodial Sexual Misconduct 2nd degree offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. Additionally, if you are a correctional officer your career is in jeopardy.
Often times Custodial Sexual Misconduct charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a misdemeanor charge may sounds relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, sexual crimes like Custodial Sexual Misconduct carry a stigma and create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with Custodial Sexual Misconduct this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. If you have been charged with Custodial Sexual Misconduct 1st degree you are facing felony charges. If is important to get your side of the story. The behavior of the person claiming to be the "victim" may have played a large part in the incident. If they are an inmate they may have an ulterior motive for reporting you.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Custodial Sexual Misconduct 2nd Degree.
RCW 9A.44.170 Custodial sexual misconduct in the second degree.