In Washington State a misdemeanor Dangerous Weapons Charge — can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of carrying: brass knuckles, switch blade knife, spring blade knife, dagger, nunchucks or other fighting weapons you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times Dangerous Weapons Charge charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. A misdemeanor weapons charge may sounds relatively harmless, but it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment. Additionally, weapons related crimes create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with a Dangerous Weapons Charge this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, many are juveniles and have a bright future ahead of them. There could be a simple misunderstanding that the officer was unwilling to listen to.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Dangerous Weapons Charge: