In Washington State a misdemeanor False certification offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times False certification charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a misdemeanor charge may sounds relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, fraud related crimes like False certification create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with False certification this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, there may be a simple explanation for the misunderstanding.
Washington State Law for False certification:
(1) A person is guilty of false certification, if, being an officer authorized to take a proof or acknowledgment of an instrument which by law may be recorded, he or she knowingly certifies falsely that the execution of such instrument was acknowledged by any party thereto or that the execution thereof was proved.
(2) False certification is a gross misdemeanor.