In Washington State a misdemeanor False swearing offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times False Swearing charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a misdemeanor charge may sounds relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, fraud related crimes like False Swearing create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with False Swearing this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, there may be a simple explanation for the misunderstanding.
Washington State Law for False Swearing:
(1) A person is guilty of false swearing if he or she makes a false statement, which he or she knows to be false, under an oath required or authorized by law.
(2) False swearing is a gross misdemeanor.