In Washington State a misdemeanor Making False or Misleading Statement offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times False or Misleading statement offense charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a misdemeanor charge may sounds relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, fraud related crimes like Making False or Misleading Statement create significant barriers to employment for many people.
For many people charged with Making a False or Misleading Statement this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, there may be a simple explanation for the misunderstanding.
Washington State Law for Making a False or Misleading Statement:
A person who knowingly makes a false or misleading material statement to a public servant is guilty of a gross misdemeanor. "Material statement" means a written or oral statement reasonably likely to be relied upon by a public servant in the discharge of his or her official powers or duties.