In Washington State a misdemeanor Making or Possessing Motor Vehicle Theft Tools offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a gross misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future.
Often times Theft charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a Making or Possessing Motor Vehicle Theft Tools charge may sounds relatively harmless, but it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, property crimes like Theft create significant barriers to employment for many people. If convicted many employers will simply pass over your application for years to come. Additionally, government employment and military service may be impossible.
Even if the police have no proof that you actually broke into a car or stole a car you can still be charged with the crime for the mere possession of these items.
For many people charged with Making or Possessing Motor Vehicle Theft Tools this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, many are juveniles and have a bright future ahead of them.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Making or Possessing Motor Vehicle Theft Tools: