In Washington State a misdemeanor Reckless Burning 2nd degree offense can have a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. If you have been charged with Reckless burning 1st degree or you are facing class C felony charges.
Often times Reckless Burning 2nd degree charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a Reckless Burning 2nd degree charge may sound relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing and find employment. If convicted many employers will simply pass over your application for years to come. With a criminal record most employers will not ask for an explanation, but simply reject your application. Additionally, government employment and military service may be impossible.
For many people charged with Reckless Burning 2nd degree this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, many are young people and have a bright future ahead of them.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Reckless Burning 2nd degree:
RCW 9A.48.040 Reckless burning in the first degree.
Your initial consultation is always free; call Washington State Reckless Buring Attorney John T. at (425) 830-7520. We'll sit down and talk about your options.