In Washington State a misdemeanor Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment offense can have a maximum sentence of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. If you are convicted of a misdemeanor you could be facing jail time and trouble securing employment in the future. The problem with Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment is that although this may sounds like a littering fine, a conviction will go on your criminal record.
Often times Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment charges are prosecuted in city courts with differing procedures and penalties. Although a misdemeanor charge may sounds relatively harmless, it can have a long-lasting impact on your ability to obtain housing, find employment and attend institutions of higher education. Additionally, property crimes like Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment create significant barriers to employment for many people, especially if the equipment was stolen.
For many people charged with Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment this is the first time they have been on the wrong side of the law. Additionally, there may be a reasonable explanation for that police were unwilling to listen to.
Below I have listed the Washington State Law for Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment:
RCW 9.03.010Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipRCW 9.03.010Abandoning, discarding refrigeration equipment
Theft in the third degree.
any person who discards or abandons or leaves in any place accessible to children any refrigerator, icebox, or deep freeze locker having a capacity of one and one-half cubic feet or more, which is no longer in use, and which has not had the door removed or a portion of the latch mechanism removed to prevent latching or locking of the door, is guilty of a misdemeanor.[1955 c 298 § 1.]
Your initial consultation is always free; call Washington State Shoplifting Attorney John T. at (425) 830-7520. We'll sit down and talk about your options.